Mercedes reveals new nomenclature for their cars

Mercedes-Benz has just announced its all-new nomenclature for its existing range of models. The Company will change its models nomenclature to better reflect the recent expansion of the company’s lineup. German luxury car-maker planned to launch new line-up of more than 30 cars worldwide by the year 2020. Including different body variants and drive systems will be added to the company’s portfolio. The Company’s move may start to make sense.  The new nomenclature is done in order to provide clear orientation to customers.


First of all the new nomenclature will be tribute to legendary G-class, all future SUV will start with ‘GL’ in their name.’ L’ is linking letter which makes model designation easier to remember and pronounce. The third will represents its relationship with core series. Centered around the five core model series (A, B, C, E and S), the model designation will be an acronym made up of between one and three upper-case letters. The existing model Mercedes-Benz GLK will become the GLC or GL C-Class, the M-Class will become the GLE or GL E-Class. The GLA will retain its badging, which is based on the A-Class already includes the new system.  Earlier model Mercedes-Benz GL will now be known as the GLS or GL S-Class. Only the G-Class will retain its one letter name. Their is no change in  company’s  four door coupe model CLS and CLA. But they are likely to be shooting brake variant i.e. CLS shooting brake and CLA shoting brake. From 2016 company’s roadster models will carry ‘SL’ but the top ranged roadster will be unchanged. The existing Mercedes-Benz SLK will become known as the SLC.


Along with model names Mercedes Benz is also changing its drive train designation. Like “BlueTEC,” “Electric Drive,” “CDI,” and “Hybrid” are being phased out in favor of one-letter add-on. Engines, other than gasoline-powered, will get new designations with a single lower case letter on the trunk.

c for “compressed natural gas” will replace Natural Gas Drive

d for “diesel” instead of BlueTEC and CDI

e for “electric” instead of PLUG-IN HYBRID, BlueTEC PLUG-IN HYBRID and Electric Drive

f for “fuel cell” instead of F-CELL

h for “hybrid” instead of HYBRID and BlueTEC HYBRID.

Models with all wheel drive (AWD) will retain 4-Matic designation.

Mercedes Benz New names

Mercedes Benz New names


About The Author


Leave a Reply